Enabling wider sharing of knowledge, expertise, and educational innovation related to simulated practice across the healthcare professions

Regional TECH Champions

Changes in roles and some new faces!

But back up to having representation in each locality! 

Unfortunately, another of our Champions has moved on to pastures new, I would personally like to thank Stuart Riby for all the hard work, fun and friendship he has offered to us all over the last few years, hopefully it is not the last we see of him in the simulation world, but we wish him the very best of luck in his new role as Digital Transformation Project Advisor at the East Riding of Yorkshire Council.

Two other TECH Champions have also moved into different organisations recently, Alison Rutherford from HENE has moved to Sunderland University as Science Manager (Healthcare) and Melanie Lowe from NENW, is now at the University of Lancashire as Senior Clinical Skills Technician.

Our vacancy for HE West Midlands has now been filled! I met Toni McCormack at the SG-ASPiH 2016 event in July and she kindly volunteered to be their representative. Toni is a Resuscitation Service Technician for University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust - See all contact changes below

 

Background - The role of the Regional TECH Champion was officially launched at ASPiH 2015 Brighton - the concept and the focused activity for this' band' of keen volunteers was really well received.

The key purpose of this new role is to improve engagement, networking and professional development of Skills and Simulation Technicians across the 13 regions across England and also Scotland, Ireland and Wales, to act as ‘ambassadors’ in promoting the role of the skills and simulation technician and support the wider aims of the ASPiH community

View the  Role Descriptor and Geographical distribution of the Regional TECH Champions

It is anticipated that their input will facilitate the organisations, centres and individuals to work more collaboratively on all that relates to supporting skills and simulation and potentially act as a first point of contact in some areas.

Their initial task is to confirm and record all existing contacts and make new connections with technicians in their own regions - so please help them to make those connections

 

Jane Nicklin

SimSupport

'supporting skills and simulation'

jane.nicklin@simsupport.me

HEYH - Health Education Yorkshire and the Humber  Zakir Chopdat, MidYorkshire NHS Foundation Trust zakir.chopdat@midyorks.nhs.uk

HENE - Health Education North East Alison Rutherford, Sunderland University alison.rutherford@sunderland.ac.uk

HENW - Health Education North West Helen Higginson, University of Bolton h.higginson@bolton.ac.uk Melanie Lowe, University of Lancashire Mlowe3@uclan.ac.uk​

HEWM - Health Education West Midlands Toni McCormack, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust Toni.McCormack@uhb.nhs.uk​

HEEM - Health Education East Midlands Mark Kane, Trent Simulation Centre, Nottingham mark.kane@nuh.nhs.uk

HEEoE - Health Education East of England – Caroline Kirby, East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust carolinekirby@nhs.net

HETV - Health Education Thames Valley Claire French, Oxford Brookes University cfrench@brookes.ac.uk

HEKSS - Health Education Kent, Surrey and Sussex James Evans, Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust  james.evans@dvh.nhs.uk  Charity Cooper, Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust  charity.cooper@fhft.nhs.uk

HEWessex - Health Education Wessex David Williams, Poole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust David.williams2@poole.nhs.uk  

HESW - Health Education South West Russell Chilton, Royal Devon & Exeter NHS Foundation Trust rchilton2@nhs.net  Nick Peres, Torbay and South Devon Healthcare Trust N.peres@nhs.net

HENCEL - Health Education North Central and East London David Nelmes, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust david.nelmes@chelwest.nhs.uk

HENWL - Health Education North West London Samantha McCormack Buckinghamshire New University Samantha.McCormack@bucks.ac.uk

HESL - Health Education South London Andrew Sykes, St Georges University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Andrew.Sykes@stgeorges.nhs.uk

Scotland Scott Rudnicki-Bayne, Scottish Centre for Simulation scott.rudnicki-bayne@nhs.net Gayle Mackie, Glasgow Caledonian University g.mackie@gcu.ac.uk

Wales Leon Hughes, Betsi Cadwalader University Health Board Leon.Hughes@wales.nhs.uk

Northern Ireland John Doran, Queens University, Belfast j.m.doran@qub.ac.uk 

Republic of Ireland Trina Lyons, Kerry Co. Limerick Trina.lyons@staff.ittralee.ie